Board of Directors

Steve Sedgwick AO Chairman

Steve’s 40 year career in the public sector included five years as Australian Public Service Commissioner and 10 years as Secretary of the departments of Finance, Employment and Education. He has developed and led significant change agendas both as an agency head and as a senior leader of the Australian Public Service. His expertise is in economic and social policy, effective governance, leadership development and intergovernmental relations. Currently, he is Deputy Chairman of the Board of Sir Roland Wilson Foundation based at the Australian National University and also serves on international advisory panels to the public services of Canada and Singapore. Steve is an Officer in the Order of Australia, was awarded a Centenary Medal in 2002 and is a national Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia. Steve is the Chairman of the Executive Committee, the Compliance & Resourcing Committee and the Education Effectiveness Committee.

Most Reverend Bishop Daniel (Danny) Meagher

Bishop Daniel is an auxiliary bishop of Sydney. He was ordinated a priest on 22 July 1995 at St Mary’s Cathedral and studied for two years at the Gregorian Pontifical University in Rome, obtaining a Licentiate in Fundamental Theology. Bishop Daniel was appointed Director of Catechesis for World Youth Day from 2006-2008. He has also served as Director of Mission for Catholic Care and as Director of Formation in the Permanent Diaconate program. Bishop Daniel was as Administrator of Sacred Heart Cathedral in Broken Hill in the Diocese of Wilcannia-Forbes from 2012-2014. He took up an appointment as Rector of the Seminary of the Good Shepherd from 2015-2020 and in 2021, and served as Administrator of All Hallows in Five Dock. On 18 November 2021, Pope Francis appointed him a bishop as Titular Bishop of Pocofelto and an auxiliary bishop of the Archdiocese of Sydney.

Anne Cummins

Professor Cummins brings a wealth of teaching and learning knowledge to CSNSW. She has been Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Students, Learning and Teaching) at the Australian Catholic University (ACU) since July 2009. She was an educator and executive in the Catholic education system for 23 years, including Principal of Merici College in the ACT. She has a longstanding commitment to equity and access in education and children and young peoples’ services. Anne is a member of the Executive Committee and the Education Effectiveness Committee.

Vince Graham AM

A civil engineer, Vince is on the board of the Australian Rail Track Corporation, NSW Public Service Commission & the Safety Committee of University of Sydney Senate. For more than 20 years, he led several large government-owned enterprises undergoing substantial change management including Essential Energy, Endeavour Energy, Ausgrid and State Rail Authority. He has also served on the boards of many Catholic organisations. Vince is a Knight Commander of the Order of St Gregory and a Member of the Order of Australia. Vince is Chair of the Capital Projects Evaluation Panel and member of the Compliance & Resourcing Committee and the Education Effectiveness Committee.

Michael Lee

Also an engineer, Michael is a director of Sydney Airport and chairman of industry body Communications Alliance. During a 17-year career as a Federal MP, he was Minister for Communications and shadow minister for education. Michael has previously chaired the NSW TAFE Commission board and Central Coast Campuses of University of Newcastle. He is Chair of Calvary Ministries and Communications Alliance Ltd, and a Director of the National Film & Sound Archive. Michael is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee and the Governance, HR & Remuneration Committee.

Moira Najdecki

A distinguished educator and schools administrator, Moira recently retired as Director of Education in the Archdiocese of Canberra-Goulburn. She has served on many boards of educational institutions, including the Senate of Australian Catholic University. Moira is a member of the governing body of Good Samaritan Education and serves on the board of Mater Dei, a special school in Camden. Moira is a member of the Capital Projects Evaluation Panel, the Education Effectiveness Committee and the Governance HR & Remuneration Committee.

David Robinson

A chartered accountant for more than 40 years, David is currently a Partner with ESV Accounting and Business Advisors. His expertise is in advising SMEs, trade unions and not-for-profit organisations. He is an experienced public company non-executive director and since 2009, a Trustee of Mary Aikenhead Ministries – the responsible entity for the health, education and social care ministries formerly under the stewardship of the Sisters of Charity of Australia. David is Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee, and a member of the Capital Projects Evaluation Panel and the Compliance & Resourcing Committee.

Julian Widdup

Julian is a company director with significant experience in the areas of investment, finance, infrastructure, government, agriculture, healthcare, education and defence industries. He brings strong board and executive skills in strategy, risk management, corporate finance, governance, environment, safety, compliance, research and development. Julian holds a Bachelor of Economics from the Australian National University, is a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He is currently a director of Rural Funds Management Ltd, Director of Screen Canberra and serves on the Board of Members of the Australian Catholic University.

Toni Downes

Emeritus Professor Toni Downes has worked with universities, educational systems and schools, for nearly 40 years. Through effective leadership and sustained scholarship she has improved educational outcomes in universities and schools in the effective use of digital technologies, in gender and technology, and in teacher education policy and practice, Her work has included numerous research and professional projects, over 70 publications, international and national professional presentations and workshops and over $1 million in grants and consultancies. She has been a keynote or distinguished speaker at international conferences in New Zealand, USA, England, Switzerland, Hungary, PNG, Thailand, Hong Kong, Wales, China, Finland and Norway. She is a highly experienced senior educational leader, having had senior roles at two universities. In 2018 she retired from the role of DVC Academic at Charles Sturt University, having also served as an Executive Dean and Head of School in earlier years. She currently serves as a non-executive director on a number of Boards, as a member of academic boards and advisory committees, and as an external reviewer of educational programs and organisational units.

Dallas McInerney – Chief Executive Officer

Dallas McInerney is the Chief Executive Officer of Catholic Schools NSW Ltd, the System Authority for the State’s 550 Catholic Schools. He is a cabinet appointee to the Board of the NSW Education Standards Authority. Dallas previously held senior roles in the private sector (Insurance Australia Group and National Australia Bank) and in Government, ASIC. In 2007, Dallas was invited to join DFAT’s Young Leaders Programme with delegations through Asia, prior to this, he interned for the H.E Kofi Annan Secretary – General of the United Nation in New York. More recently, Dallas served on the Executive of the NSW Liberal Party, he has read for Masters degrees from the University of Sydney and Oxford and lives in the Southern Highlands of NSW.